THE TRIBUTES ARE ANNOUNCED

Amid a warm, May day, we all gather in the grey-scale district’s center square. The scent of burning metal and sweat can probably be smelled in the next district over. I look around and see each resident of district three here, excluding those in the forges and masonry mills. Each person seems petrified, and the shadow of fear begins to cover their brighter emotions. Though my district is not known as a career district, I would still die (quite literally) to be reaped and put into the games.

The annoncer of our district, District 3, Romulus Crow steps up the iron plated steps, and with a golden stride in his step, sits with a sense of entitlement upon his vibrant throne of ripe leather and vibrant fibers. The next annual procedure is the showing of the propaganda called the Treaty of Treason. Then come the words I have practically memorized in anticipation: “In penance for their uprising, each district shall offer up a male and a female between the ages of 12 and 18 at a public “reaping”. These tributes shall be delivered to the custody of the Capitol. And then transferred to a public arena, where they will fight to the death until a lone victor remains. Henceforth and forevermore this pageant shall be known as The Hunger Games.”

Romulus steps up to his usual spot on the stage, and seems to sniff the air as he raised his head and stone-grey hair towards the sky. “I’d like to take a moment,” he seemed to bellow at the crowd, “To welcome you all to the 80th annual hunger games!” Cheer erupts from the game-makers over in the corner of the square. The rest of us remain silent, and I’m sure this silence is shared throughout Panem, minus the actual career districts. Finally, he reads the girls. “Anne Foir!” I know her, she used to go to my school before I went to the all exclusive school of the League of Shadows. “and she will be joined by…” dead silence, “Bruce Wayne!” I must not have heard him right- did he really call me? My joy cannot be contained!
“I will bring honor to our district!” I yell triumphantly, and I am engulfed in a sea of approving cheers. I will become the victor of the 80th annual hunger games, and no one will get in my way. Be ready, tributes, and heed these words: you can run, but you can’t hide.

2 thoughts on “THE TRIBUTES ARE ANNOUNCED

  1. This was a great post, it used amazing sensory details and was ey creative. I really like te sentence…”Each person seems petrified, and the shadow of fear begins to cover their brighter emotions.” It was ceative and showed the true nature of the reaping. I also like how you described Crow’s walk as a golden stride. That was a creative way to describe his walk. The only thing you could hae changed is to use “Harper” instead of Crow. Overall this was an amazing narrative.

  2. The overall post was very good, and there were lots of great sensory detail. One thing is that you changed the tense when you said – “and seems to sniff the air as he raised his head” – you had seems and then raised. I also thought that you could have involved more about how your person was feeling. Instead of only having that part at the end when you were overjoyed. Otherwise, it was really good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *